Mahayana Buddhism

Topics: Buddhism, Gautama Buddha, Mahayana Pages: 3 (936 words) Published: February 23, 2013
Buddhism is an Asian religion, founded in North East India, and followed by over three-hundred million people worldwide. Buddhism is the fourth largest religion in the world. Buddhism was founded by Indian Prince Siddhartha Gautama, known as the Buddha. The religion was founded in 520 BCE. Some may say Buddhism is not a religion, but a philosophy, because Buddhists do not believe in worshipping a creator god. Buddhism is mainly followed in China, Japan, Korea, and most of Southeast Asia.

Siddhartha Gautama was born in the sixth century B.C. He was born in Lumbini, the country of modern day Nepal. He was the son of Suddhodana, who was the ruler of the Sakya people. Siddhartha lived a royal life as the prince. Siddhartha’s father forced him to live a life of seclusion, and wanted him to be treated as the best. At sixteen Siddhartha married a young women named Yasodhara. Siddhartha was ordered never to leave his kingdom, but he ventured off into the world. When he was faced with the inevitable suffering of the world, he left his kingdom and newborn son in order to relieve the unbelievable suffering of the world. From then on, he encouraged people to follow a path of balance rather than extremism. He called this The Middle Way. At the age of thirty-five Siddhartha achieved enlightenment, and earned the name Buddha. – The Buddhist World. The Buddha has taught that there are twelve links in the chain of Dependent Arising. The Dependent Arising are the teachings of Buddha on how things came to be, how things are, and how things cease to be. Nothing lives independent of other beings. - O'Brien, Barbara. The twelve links are 1. Ignorance, 2. Karmic formations, 3. Consciousness, 4. Name and form, 5. Six senses, 6. Contact, 7. Feeling, 8. Craving, 9. Grasping, 10. Becoming, 11. Birth, and 12. Aging and death. - Buddhism Fast Facts

There are three major divisions of Buddhism. The three major divisions are Theravada, Mahayana, and Vajrayana. Theravada is...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Mahayana Buddhism Essay
  • How Buddhism Has Changed Essay
  • Buddhism Worksheet Essay
  • Buddhism Essay
  • Hinduism and Buddhism Essay
  • Hinduism/Buddhism Essay
  • REL 133 Current Issues of Buddhism Essay
  • Religion 133 Buddhism Worksheet Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free